Skip to content

Blueberry Muffins and The Queen

March 10, 2010

Hi everyone!

I hope you’re all having a wonderful week so far!  But, before we go any further, I have a recipe that I have to share with you!

Double Blueberry Muffins

(adapted from this recipe)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 stick unsalted butter, softened at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup turbinado sugar
  • 1/2 banana, mashed
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 1/2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries (I used fresh)
  • 1 cup white flour
  • 1 cup wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • cinnamon

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 375 F. Grease a muffin tin or line with paper liners.

Using a small whisk, cream the butter until smooth (You can definitely use your mixer, I just did not feel like pulling mine out, or cleaning it up after 😉 ).  Add the cup of of white sugar, along with the eggs, vanilla, baking powder and salt – mix.  Add canola oil, 1/2 banana (mashed), and turbinado sugar, mix well.

Next, add your 1 cup of white flour, with 1/2 of the milk and mix.  Repeat with wheat flour, cinnamon, and remaining milk.  Mix until flour is incorporated and then gently fold in blueberries.  (If you were using your mixer, I would do this step at low speed).

Fill muffin cups about 3/4 full.  I sprinkled a little cinnamon and sugar over the tops of the muffins, and baked mine for about 20 minutes.

P.S. Let cool before removing and gobbling down, or you will burn your poor little fingers as I did to mine.

The verdict?  These muffins were delicious!

My fiance is not aware of the substitutions I made, but he said they were one of the best batches I had made.  He even commented that he liked them so much because they did not taste as ‘healthy’ as my last batch.  😉

This past weekend, the Renaissance Festival was in town.  I used to go all the time when I was younger, with my family, but Blake had never been, so we thought it would be a fun way to spend our Saturday!

Entering into the village:

Parade:

The King and Queen:

There were a bunch of games to play, like Bump A Monk:

Or Knacker Ball:

Have you ever seen pretzels being served like this??

Mmm… pretzels..

Even though I did not get a pretzel, it is possible we may have purchased a 1/2 lb cookie…

And a bag of kettle corn..

Before we knew it, it was time to go 😦

We had a blast!! A lot of people dress up and really get into it.  I am already excited to go again next year 😀

Man, looking at all the pictures of last weekend, is really making me anxious for Friday!

Hope everyone is having  a great week – Happy Hump Day!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

