Skip to content

Staying Healthy On The Road

March 4, 2010

Hey Guys!

As you know, I was in Orlando for work last week.  Normally, this means late night meetings, numerous lunches/dinners out with my boss (perhaps with a few too many cocktails) and little time to get in a good workout.  But this time, I was determined to find a better approach.  That’s right my friends, not only would I find the time to workout, but I would say ‘NO’ to the free meals… well, some of them, I mean, I do have to eat 😉

Day one, I ran to Publix on my lunch break to stock up on a few items I would need to be able to deter myself from unhealthy snacks and meals.  Oh, I forgot to mention, my boss loves chocolate, so we have a nice, big candy dish always very well stocked with an assortment of goodies which means that my hand is usually digging in there, oh, about 14 times a day. 😉

On my Publix trip I snagged:

For about $15.00 I was able to get:

  • Milk
  • 2 containers of cereal
  • Fruit
  • 2 yogurts
  • 2 Progresso Soups
  • Small salad
  • Cheese crisps

This way, I could still get a healthy breakfast in, cereal with banana, soup for lunch, salad on the side, yogurt, fruit and cheese crisps for snacking.. mmmm.  I figured this would work out best, since I knew I would have leftover from dinners out and could only decline on lunch so many times.

Turns out, this worked great!  I was able to still get in my fruits and veggies without feeling like I just went off the deep end for a week, foodwise.  Overall I felt much better than previous weeks and knew I had more energy.  I will definitely be doing this, or bringing some things from home, on my future trips!

How do you stay healthy while you travel??

Have a great one!

Dani

P.S. I was also able to make it to a spinning class.. BAM! 😀

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

